Preschool workshop

administrator No comments

964 0 0 0 15 preschool workshop 2. 984 0 0 0 19 8c2.

The CTW was founded in 1968 by Joan Ganz Cooney and Lloyd Morrisett as a non-profit corporation whose original purpose was to develop and produced an educational television show for preschool children, particularly those from disadvantaged backgrounds. The first show that CTW produced was Sesame Street, which proved hugely successful. The Carnegie Corporation, the US Office of Education, and Ford Foundation provided the initial funding for the project. A few years after the success of Sesame Street, The Jim Henson Company worked with the company to develop another series, The Affect Show. However, The Affect Show didn’t get past planning stages. In 1999, the Children’s Television Workshop, along with Nickelodeon, a division of MTV Networks owned by Viacom, launched a kids’ channel called Noggin, featuring many classic kids’ shows from both companies. Sesame Workshop later sold its half of the channel to Viacom on August 7, 2002.

In 2005, Sesame Workshop, along with Comcast, PBS, and HIT Entertainment, launched a new cable channel called PBS Kids Sprout. Sesame Workshop divested its stake in Sprout in December 2012. Sesame Workshop runs a critically acclaimed website, sesameworkshop. In late 2007, the organization launched the Joan Ganz Cooney Center at Sesame Workshop, “to catalyze and support research, innovation and investment in digital media technologies to advance children’s learning. Three months previously, Knell told Bloomberg Radio the company was “able to withstand” recessions, but not “immune”.